Under Connecticut law, 16 and 17 year old students who wish to get a driver’s license must complete a minimum of 30 hours of classroom training (minimum 8 hours with a driving school), plus 40 hours of behind the wheel training before they can take their road test. A parent or legal guardian must also attend a “Parent Class” with the student, which is the first two hours of our teen driver education class. A student must be at least 16 years old to attend a class, but does not need a learner’s permit to attend (to learn how to get a permit please click on the “How To Get A Learner’s Permit” icon on this page). Fox Driving School, LLC currently offers the 8 Hour Teen Class to satisfy DMV training requirements.
The least expensive option is to take the 8 Hour Teen Class at our driving school, then do the rest of the training on your own. The price is $150 and covers the minimum requirement for formal driving school training in Connecticut. A parent or legal guardian must attend the first two hours of this class with the student. Parents choosing this option must then complete the balance of 22 hours of classroom-style training on their own as well as 40 hours behind the wheel training. For the driving portion of the training, the DMV has created a driving log to document hours behind the wheel. A printable copy can be downloaded by clicking on the “DMV Driving Log” icon on this page. Students who choose this option must wait at least 6 months from the day they received their permit before they can take the road test.
Another option is to take the 8 hour class mentioned above and also add a 2-hour behind the wheel lesson. Parents would then be responsible for the balance of class training (22 hours) and driver training (38 hours). During the 2 hours of behind the wheel instruction the student will be taught how to back-in park, enter and exit a highway, make safe lane changes, yield right of way, interpret traffic control devices, prepare for an upcoming road test, etc. This option is $270. Additional lessons can be added down the road for $120 per two hour lesson. Students who complete a two hour driving lesson at Fox Driving School, LLC are also eligible to take their road test right at our office in Clinton, under the DMV’s “Offsite Test Program.” Students who choose this option must wait at least 6 months from the day they received their permit before they can take the road test.
In Connecticut, persons 18 and over need only complete an 8 Hour Adult “Drug and Alcohol” class before being eligible to take the road test. The price for this class is $150. Driving lessons can be added to this class for $120 per two hour lesson. Students do not need a permit to take the class, but must have a permit before practicing driving (to learn how to get a permit please click on the “How To Get A Learner’s Permit” icon on this page). There is no amount of driving practice required before taking the road test, but it is a good idea to be as competent as possible behind the wheel before testing. 18 and 19 year old students who complete at least a two-hour driving lesson with Fox Driving School, LLC can take their road test right at our office in Clinton. Students 18 and over must wait at least 3 months from the date their permit was issued before taking the road test.